Senators Carper and Coons Join 48 of their Colleagues on Resolution Celebrating June as LGBTQ+ Pride Month

U.S. Senators Tom Carper and Chris Coons (D-Del.) recently joined Senator Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio) and 47 of their colleagues to introduce a Senate resolution recognizing June as LGBTQ+ Pride Month. The resolution highlights the contributions LGBTQ+ Americans have made to our country, notes several major milestones in the fight for equal treatment of LGBTQ+ Americans, and resolves to continue efforts to achieve full equality.

“As we celebrate Pride Month this June, we must recognize the incredible achievements of the LGBTQ+ community and the hardships they have overcome both in Delaware and across the entire nation,” said Senator Carper. “We have made great progress for LGBTQ+ rights in our country and we must continue to ensure that all Americans, no matter who they love, are treated equally under the law.”

“June is a time to celebrate and reflect on the progress made on LGBTQ+ rights and to stand in solidarity with the LGBTQ+ community in Delaware and across the country,” said Senator Coons. “The fight for equality continues, and I’m dedicated to fighting alongside the community every step of the way.”

The resolution was co-sponsored by 47 other senators including Sens. Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Laphonza Butler (D-Calif.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Richard Durbin (D-Ill.), John Fetterman (D-Pa.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), John Hickenlooper (D-Colo.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Mark Kelly (D-Ariz.), Angus King (I-Maine), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Ben Ray Luján (D-N.M.), Joe Manchin (I-W.Va.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Jon Ossoff (D-Ga.), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Bernie Sanders (I-Va.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Kyrsten Sinema (I-Ariz.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Peter Welch (D-Vt.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), and Ron Wyden (D-Ore.).

Full text of the resolution is available HERE.

This year’s pride resolution was endorsed by the Human Rights Campaign (HRC).