Carper Applauds Confirmations of Chemical Safety Board Nominees

WASHINGTON, D.C. — U.S. Senator Tom Carper (D-Del.), Chairman of the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works (EPW), praised the confirmations of Stephen A. Owens and Sylvia E. Johnson to serve as members of the U.S. Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board (CSB).

“Getting these qualified individuals confirmed to serve on the Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board is fantastic news,” said Carper. “As our nation’s premier investigating agency when it comes to industrial chemical accidents, the CSB is critical to making sure our communities are safe places to live and work. Both Mr. Owens and Ms. Johnson are proven leaders and their confirmations come at a much-needed time for the board. I am hopeful we can soon fill the remaining vacancies, so CSB can fulfill its mission to the American people as intended.”

Earlier this year, both Owens and Johnson came before the EPW Subcommittee on Chemical Safety, Waste Management, Environmental Justice, and Regulatory Oversight to field questions from Senators. The full Committee later voted unanimously to advance both of their nominations.