Carper, Coons Introduce First Ever Bipartisan Senate Resolution to Honor the 50th Anniversary of the Stonewall Uprising

June 28, 2019 marks 50 years since brave Americans at New York’s Stonewall Inn stood up to oppression and discrimination


WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senators Tom Carper and Chris Coons (both D-Del.) joined Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Democratic Leader Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.) and Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.) to introduce the first ever bipartisan U.S. Senate resolution to honor the 50th Anniversary of the Stonewall uprising. Stonewall is an important moment in American history that sparked the modern day LGBTQ movement for equal rights in communities across the country.

On June 28, 1969, the New York Police Department raided the Stonewall Inn, a bar in New York’s Greenwich Village frequented by the LGBTQ community. But several brave Americans, led in particular by transgender women of color, stood up to the police violence and fought back, causing an uprising at the Stonewall Inn and the surrounding area that lasted six days. On June 6, 2019, the NYPD Commissioner issued an official apology on behalf of the NYPD, stating, “The actions taken by the NYPD were wrong—plain and simple.”

“Fifty years ago, the LGBTQ community took an extraordinary step and changed the course of history in our country,” said Senator Carper. “Their courage at Stonewall spurred a movement across the country and, to this day, stands as a testament to the power of brave citizens to make a difference and inspire generations. I am proud join my colleagues, including Senator Coons, in honoring these brave members of the LGTBQ community who fought for justice in the face of violence and discrimination decades ago. Today, we must honor their legacy by continuing the hard work of ensuring true equality for all people.”

“The LGBTQ Americans who stood up for their rights at the Stonewall Inn 50 years ago today knew that every single American deserves the same respect and rights,” said Senator Coons. “Over the last 50 years, we’ve come so far in advancing the rights of and respect for LGBTQ Americans, but we still have more work to do. Today, as we celebrate this anniversary, I’m as committed as ever to keeping up the fight.”

Additional Senate cosponsors of the resolution include Senators Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.) and Ron Wyden (D-Ore.). 

 Full text of the resolution is available here.