Carper, Coons Join Colleagues in Announcing Amendment to Reaffirm U.S. Support for a Two-State Solution 

Today, U.S. Senators Tom Carper and Chris Coons (both D-Del.) joined 47 of their Senate colleagues in announcing plans to file an amendment to the forthcoming national security supplemental package that reiterates longstanding U.S. policy in support of a two-state solution to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. 

“For decades I have advocated for a two-state solution and the ongoing conflict in Israel and Gaza makes the need for a negotiated compromise even more urgent,” said Senator Carper. “This is a critical moment for the U.S. to continue its leadership on the world stage and this amendment reiterates our commitment to enduring peace in the region.”

“The ongoing Israel-Hamas war has made clear that peace and stability in the Middle East is more important than ever. A two-state solution remains the most realistic path towards that goal and is the best way to ensure Israel’s long-term security. I’m proud to support this amendment and reiterate my support for a peaceful, secure, and democratic future for Israelis and Palestinians,” said Senator Coons.

Senators Carper and Coons were joined by Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), and U.S. Senators Brian Schatz (D-Hawai‘i), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawai‘i), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Peter Welch (D-Vt.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Robert Menendez (D-N.J.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Laphonza Butler (D-Calif.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Ben Ray Luján (D-N.M.), Mark Kelly (D-Ariz.), Angus King (I-Maine), Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.), Kyrsten Sinema (I-Ariz.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), John Hickenlooper (D-Colo.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), and Jon Ossoff (D-Ga.).

The text of the amendment is available here.