Sen. Carper Congratulates Delaware’s 2011 National Blue Ribbon School Winners

WASHINGTON – Today, Sen. Tom Carper (D-Del.) congratulated Delaware’s 2011 National Blue Ribbon School winners: Long Neck Elementary School, Nellie Hughes Stokes Elementary School, and West Park Place Elementary School. The three schools are among about 300 schools nationwide selected as 2011 National Blue Ribbon Schools.

“I couldn’t be more proud of Delaware’s 2011 National Blue Ribbon School winners,” said Sen. Carper. “The selection of these schools is a testament to the hard work and dedication of their students, teachers and leaders. Together, these schools are helping to lead the way in education in the First State and are serving as an inspiration to other schools and communities in Delaware and throughout our nation.”

The award honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools whose students either achieve at very high levels or have made significant progress in closing gaps in achievement, especially among disadvantaged and minority students. Each year since 1982, the U.S. Department of Education has sought out schools where students attain and maintain high academic goals, including those that beat the odds. In the past 29 years, more than 6,000 of America’s schools have received this coveted award.