Sen. Carper Highlights USDA/1890 National Scholars Program Application Deadline

WASHINGTON – Today, Sen. Tom Carper (D-Del.) highlighted the upcoming Feb. 1, 2011 application deadline for the USDA/1890 National Scholars Program, which is a partnership between the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and 1890 Historically Black Land-Grant Universities. Sen. Carper encourages Delaware students interested in attending one of the 1890 Historically Black Land-Grant Universities to apply for the scholarship program for the 2011-12 academic year.

“Land-grant universities, such as Delaware State University, help ensure that our researchers are well-trained and our farmers are well-equipped to meet our nation’s growing agriculture demands,” said Sen. Carper. “The U.S. Department of Agriculture/1890 National Scholars Program provides students in Delaware and across the U.S. with the financial means to acquire a world class education, as well as access to opportunities for professional development within the U.S. Department of Agriculture. We must continue to support and bolster our nation’s historically strong agriculture sector in order to remain competitive in the global market. Investing in our students’ agriculture education and development is an essential part of that effort.”

The USDA/1890 National Scholars Program expands diversity through the recruitment of talented students to public service in agriculture-related fields, including food sciences, natural resource sciences and agriculture sciences. Since 1992, USDA has funded scholarships for over 500 students. The scholarship includes full tuition, fees, books, use of a laptop computer, room and board, and summer employment and benefits with USDA. Upon completion of the scholar’s academic degree program, there is an obligation of one year of service to USDA for each year of financial support.

USDA selects scholars based on recommendation of participating 1890 Land-Grant Universities, which include Alabama A&M University, Alcorn State University, Delaware State University, Florida A&M University, Fort Valley State University, Kentucky State University, Langston University, Lincoln University, North Carolina A&T University, Prairie View A&M University, South Carolina State University, Southern University, Tennessee State University, Tuskegee University, University of Arkansas-Pine Bluff, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, Virginia State University and West Virginia State University.

Applications must be postmarked no later than Feb. 1, 2011, and mailed to the respective USDA Program Manager Office at the institution of the applicant’s choice. For more information about the USDA/1890 National Scholars Program, please contact Brittini Brown at 202-205-4307 or or visit