Sen. Carper Announces Committee to Research Appropriate Locations for National Park Unit in Delaware

Public Workshops Scheduled

Wilmington – Senator Carper today announced the formation of a committee to research locations for a national park unit in Delaware. Retired University of Delaware professor Dr. Jim Soles is chair of the committee, which is comprised of 12 other members from across the state. Committee Members: Chair: Dr. Jim Soles New Castle County: Mr. Ruly Carpenter, Mr. Bill Powers, Mr. Stacey Mobley Kent County: Dr. Wilma Mishoe, Mr. Ernst Dannemann, Mrs. Jane Richter Sussex County: Mrs. Norma Lee Derrickson, Rep. John Schroeder, Mr. Gonzalo Martinez Wilmington: Dr. Linda Gilliam, Mr. Frank Biondi, Ms. Maria Matos In May, Senator Carper asked Delawareans for their input on creating a national park unit in the First State-the only state without such a unit. Over 200 people were polled via the internet, phone and direct mail. The results reflected overwhelming sentiment in favor of a national park unit for Delaware. It is now up to the public to help Senator Carper’s National Park Committee come up with a recommendation for where a national park unit should be located in Delaware. The committee will conduct public workshops in each county and the City of Wilmington. Individuals or groups who wish to make presentations are invited to do so, and are asked to call one of Senator Carper’s state offices to register (New Castle County 302-573-6291, Kent County 302-674-3308, Sussex County 302-856-7690). All presentations should: · Be accompanied by a submission of no longer than two typewritten pages · Last no longer than 10 minutes Public Workshop Schedule Sussex County October 16th 6:30 p.m. DelTech, Owens Carter Partnership Bldg., Rm. 556 New Castle County October 20th 6:30 p.m. DelTech, Stanton Conf. Ctr., Rm. A116 Kent County October 22nd 6:30 p.m. DelTech, Terry Conf. & Training Ctr., Rm. 407A Wilmington October 30th 6:30 p.m. DelTech, Wilm. Southeast Building Conf. Rms. A&B “Delaware has many natural areas and historic landmarks for people to explore and enjoy,” Sen. Carper said. “The public’s view of establishing some kind of national park unit in Delaware is an extremely important element in the research and development process. I encourage people to share their thoughts and ideas.” The National Park System of the United States includes 385 areas of land in 49 states. These units are administered by the National Park Service (NPS) of the Department of Interior. There are more than 15 different types of units of the NPS: · National Park · National Monument · National Preserve · National Historic Site · National Historic Park · National Memorial · National Battlefield · National Cemetery · National Recreation Area · National Seashore · National Lakeshore · National River · National Parkway · National Trail · Affiliated Areas · Other Designations Please contact Latisha Omeruah in Senator Carper’s New Castle County Office (302-573-6291) with any questions regarding Senator Carper’s National Park Unit project.